My first post…finally!

Hello all!

I have finally started a blog! I was a bit hesitant at first because I thought, “Who is actually going to read it?! I don’t feel like I have anything interesting to say!” But, after much encouragement from my husband, friends and fellow mamas, I decided to give it a shot.

Here it goes…

I am using this blog as a means of posting information I find meaningful as well as healthy recipes, both ones I have tried from other wonderful bloggers and ones that I have created. Hopefully some of the recipes I post will appeal to you and your picky toddlers!

I would like to think that I have always been a fairly healthy eater, but sInce having my lovely little boy, Sebastian, I have taken my healthy eating to a new level. Even before Sebastian was born my husband and I were committed to providing him with the healthiest food possible to give him the best start in life. We do our very best to avoid processed food and refined sugar and only buy nutritious, locally grown and organic food. Of course, we still have treats, but I sweeten with alternatives to refined sugar, such as raw honey, maple syrup, coconut sugar, bananas and apple sauce. I also bake using a variety of healthy grains, such as spelt, teff, brown rice and quinoa, or grain-free substitutes like almond flour, coconut flour and plantains.

I have learned so much about food and cooking since Sebastian was born and I continue to read, search for and create new recipes to appeal to my newly-picky toddler. He was such a GREAT eater until the age of 2 and then it began….he can find and pick out TINY pieces of anything he chooses not to like in his meals, one day he likes broccoli and the next he hates it, he tells me he doesn’t like food before he even tries it, AFTER I have spent a long time preparing it for him, and it seems as though every meal involves a negotiation of some kind! (My mom tells me it is Karma, since I was the pickiest child in the world, apparently). His new-found pickiness (is this even a word? lol) has caused me to become more creative in hiding vegetables and making food more fun for him.

Here’s hoping you enjoy some of the links and recipes I post and that some appeal to your children, too! 🙂

2 thoughts on “My first post…finally!

  1. I think its wonderful that you are giving Sebastian a healthy start in life. I’m looking forward to trying some of your recipes:)

    Like

  2. Yay!!! I am so excited you finally started this blog! Can’t wait to try these recipes on the weekend, I am sure they will be just as delicious as the muffins you treated us to last weekend! (Don’t forget to post that one at some point) thanks for taking the time to share…

    Like

Leave a Reply

